What to Wear After Kids (Getting dressed is harder now, isn’t it?)

14 Oct

Before kids, I lived in San Francisco, and getting dressed in the morning was fun. My wardrobe included a lot of black, skinny jeans, fun shoes, and I had a sense of adventure and possibility when I went shopping. That was six years ago. Today, I live in the suburbs of Silicon Valley, staying at home raising two lovely kids, aged 5 and nearly 2.  I knew motherhood would be challenging – but I’m really surprised at how difficult it is to get dressed After Kids.  Everyone knows becoming a parent means different priorities, different bedtimes, and different social activities. But why is my entire collection of Joe’s Jeans gathering dust on the top shelf of my closet? Why do I find myself wearing the same hoodie and Teva flip flops every day? Why don’t I bother looking in the mirror anymore?  I think I’m giving up on some part of myself.

Getting dressed After Kids means finding clothes that resist stains and forgive our newly acquired figure flaws.  We hardly have time to use the bathroom in privacy, let alone put together an Outfit for the day.  We’re just grateful that the laundry got done in time to wear that old reliable pair of jeans again. We (along with our footwear) have to keep up with our kids, and that means bending, carrying, climbing, chasing, and running out the door to whatever it is that we’re late for.

Don’t get me wrong – we have our priorities straight. Taking care of our kids does, and should, come before making a fashion statement. Still, I remember the days when dressing used to be fun. It’s a distant memory, just like sleeping in and traveling light. Still, the memory is alluring.

Meanwhile, my younger child begins sleeping through the night, and the haze of sleep deprivation starts to lift. My older child learns to buckle his own seat belt in the car.  And then it happens – a friend compliments an outfit I am wearing, and suddenly I wonder – is there a way to bring back the fun of getting dressed every day, this time as a mom?

2 Responses to “What to Wear After Kids (Getting dressed is harder now, isn’t it?)”

  1. Grace October 31, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    In shopping for my sis who has 3 youngish kids, I have found that I gravitate toward lots of grey sweatery tops without embellishment… (In fact, this is what I gravitate toward myself — even without kids — it’s a near-perfect uniform, grey tops and jeans).. While I like to accessorize (when I can be bothered) with scarves and necklaces, I usually stay away from buying my sis these items as they are one added step, and not always conducive to picking up children… So, the answer is: lots of grey 🙂

  2. Jules Sherman December 29, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Hi Sally!
    Love your blog. I am wrestling with the same stuff these days. I have an 8 month old daughter and I am a grad student so it’s a double whammy. What the heck does a new mom and a stressed out grad student wear?
    I found this great online store called Athleta. They carry really cute/hip/comfy pants and sweaters
    that wash really easily, resist baby spit-up stains and have nice muted but unique colors.
    My favorite pants are here: http://athleta.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=46800&vid=1&pid=683761
    Also, I like Arche shoes. They are expensive, but last forever and are very comfortable/stylish in an understated way. My husband Thomas, baby Sophia and I live in Menlo Park. It would be great to see you sometime!
    Jules Sherman
    juless@stanford.edu

Leave a Reply

Katastrophic Thoughts

"The supreme accomplishment is to blur the line between work and play."

As Time Goes...Buy

"spending 90 days in the wilderness"

vibhascribbles

Some doodle, Vibha scribbles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Outdoors Parent

Into the wild with three small children

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

BEST FRIENDS FIGHT FAT

TWO GIRLS' JOURNEY TO BE HEALTHY AND THIN

Posey Pie Productions

My year (and counting) as a stay-at-home mom.

The Goon Room

A little of everything and nothing, all in one blog

