Bathing Beauty

16 May

I’m digging through my shoe bin in search of my flip flops. That can only mean one thing – bathing suit season is coming!

Last year, it took me months to find a bathing suit I was truly happy with. I ended up with a Patagonia bikini and swim short which I still like, but this year, I am feeling like I could use a little more coverage in the mid section. So I geared up to search for a bathing suit with a tankini top, or possibly a one-piece. Expecting the search to be long and grueling, I was shocked when I  found a bathing suit that worked for me in the first store I tried.  Great fit – cute print – comfortable – and reasonably priced. Here it is. (Ta da!)

Title Nine "Impossible" Tankini

The Title Nine “Impossible” Tankini – the bathing suit that will carry me through summer. (Also comes in solid blue and other patterns)

The cut of the front offers plenty of support and coverage, and the pads add some shape without looking phony. I also love the tie closure in back, which is more comfortable than a halter (those hurt my neck after a while) and easy to adjust. Here’s a view of the back – even though I could tie the closure myself if I had to, it stays put way better than a regular string bikini, so I hardly ever need to. It also comes in a solid blue color.

Title Nine "Impossible" Tankini - adjustable back

The Title Nine “Impossible” Tankini

It must have been a lucky shopping day because on the same trip, I stumbled across this ultra comfortable top to match – I intended it as a coverup to match my bathing suit, but find myself reaching for it for everyday. Paired with a tank top and jeans, it’s the perfect weight for cool and sunny spring days.  I only spent 45 minutes shopping, but felt like I had seriously scored by the end of it.

Stripy Stretch Hoody from Title Nine

If you have a Title Nine store near you, I recommend starting there for your bathing suit shopping. If not, check out their web site or catalog – their returns policy is reasonable and they carry much more online than they do in the store. Their sizing is pretty straightforward (my real life size matches their sizing in bathing suits). Their stuff is geared toward active pursuits like sporting or adventure travel – which I think describes the average day of a mom with young kids. Their prints are fun and colorful, and their fit is made to stay put, which really makes a difference – even if we’re not surfing or playing beach volleyball like the toned and tanned models in the catalog, our bodies are in motion all day long. Whether it’s splashing the kids in the water, bending over to make sand castles, or lugging piles of beach toys to and from the car, we need all the cooperation we can get from our swimwear (even if we can’t get it from our kids).

UPDATE: As of 8/1/12, The items listed above are on sale at Titlenine.com – if you’ve been waiting for the prices to drop, now’s the time to act! (The hoodie is sold out in the color on this post, but there are other colors still available. The tankini comes in two other colors and all are still available.)

3 Responses to “Bathing Beauty”

  1. Ellen G Rodarte June 8, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Love that bathing suit, think I will order me one. I agree with the halter neck issue, dont know if it’s that I’m older or just wiser and more intolerant of little irritating things from my clothes like neck strain. I’m going to go with wiser!

    • Sally June 8, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      I’ll go with wiser too. 😉 If you search for “Impossible tankini” on Titlenine.com , you will see all the different color options. I’ve been wearing it for a few months now and still only have good things to say about it. (It’s designed by Carve Designs – I notice when I search Title Nine for that brand, they have quite a few other products which I’m now tempted to check out!)

  2. happykidshappymom June 11, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Ooh, I love that striped top! It looks like something I would enjoy wearing during the summer, in the shade, or in the evenings, nice and comfy. 🙂 On a recent drive to Rockport (a sea town here in Massachusetts), I did get a cute little “after kids” suit with a built in skirt for the summer. But of course I’ll want a cover up, and that top looks perfect.

Leave a Reply

Katastrophic Thoughts

"The supreme accomplishment is to blur the line between work and play."

As Time Goes...Buy

"spending 90 days in the wilderness"

vibhascribbles

Some doodle, Vibha scribbles

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Outdoors Parent

Into the wild with three small children

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

BEST FRIENDS FIGHT FAT

TWO GIRLS' JOURNEY TO BE HEALTHY AND THIN

Posey Pie Productions

My year (and counting) as a stay-at-home mom.

The Goon Room

A little of everything and nothing, all in one blog

